Green Heaven Tours

Tours Around Ecuador & The Galapagos Islands

                               About Ecuador
Nowadays, Ecuador shares its borders in the north with Colombia, in the East and South with Peru, and in the West with the Pacific Ocean. It has 256,250 square kilometers, and it is divided in four regions:
  • The Coast, with all the cities close to the Pacific Ocean. 
  • The Sierra (Highlands), which is the region that comprises the cities along the Andes Mountain Range.  In addition, the capital, Quito, which is a Cultural World Heritage due to its magnificent colonial historic centre, is also located in this region. 
  • The Jungle, which is the biggest region but has the lowest population density of Ecuador.  This region has one of the highest biodiversities of the world. 
  • Finally, the Galapagos Islands, which are a Natural World Heritage declared by the UNESCO, and home to hundreds of unique animal species that helped Charles Darwin develop his theory about evolution. 

                        History of Ecuador


                             Timeline of the History of Ecuador

8000 BC - 800AD
8000 – 3000 BC: Pre-ceramic period: Las Vegas culture established in Santa Elena Peninsula in the coast of Ecuador.
3300 – 500 BC: Formative period: In the coast of Ecuador, the Valdivia culture were the first American culture to use pottery.
500 BC – 800 AD: Region Development began with Tolita and Bahia cultures.
1400 - 1799
1463: Inca Kingdom expands and encompasses Ecuador.
1532: Pizarro’s expedition discovers Ecuador.
1535. Spanish conquistadors overthrew the Incan Empire and Ecuador came under the rule of Spain.

1539: The Amazon River is discovered in an expedition which started in Quito.
1700’s: Spain combined Ecuador with neighboring territories into one large colony called the Viceroyalty of New Granada. The Viceroyalty of New Granada consisted of Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, and Panama.

Venezuelan General, Francisco Gabriel de Miranda (1750-1816) participated in major political events for more than three decades.
1800 - 1899
1810: Overthrow of the King of Spain by Napoleon.

1810: The territories of the Viceroyalty of New Granada set up their own independent governments.

1814: Spain sent troops to South America to quell the uprising of the colonists.

1819: General Simon Bolivar defeats royalist forces in the Battle of Boyaca on August 7 and the Republic of Colombia (also known as Gran Colombia) is proclaimed on December 17, consisting of Colombia, Venezuela, and Ecuador.

1820: Coastal Ecuador declares independence from Spain.
1822: Spanish rule in Ecuador ended after the defeat of the Spaniards in the battle of Pichincha.

1830: Ecuador became an independent country.

1859: Charles Darwin published his book Origin of Species after studying a variety of plant and animal life on the Galapagos Islands, which belong to Ecuador.

1861: Gabriel Garcia Moreno became president.
1875: Gabriel Garcia Moreno was assassinated.

1896: General Eloy Alfaro took control of the government ending the power of the Roman Catholic church over the government.
1900 AD – 2000 AD
1925 – 1948: Ecuador had 22 presidents or chiefs of state. None of them servedcomplete terms due to economic and social problems.

1941: Ecuador goes to war with Peru.
1948: Ecuador goes through a major economic boom with the banana trade.
1963: Military rule.

1966: End to the military rule.

1970`s: Oil becomes Ecuador´s main economic factor.
1970: Velasco suspended the constitution and began to govern as dictator.
1972: Velasco was overthrown by military leaders.

1972: General Guillermo Rodriguez Lara took power.

1976: Rodriguez Lara was removed from office by the military.

1979: Ecuador began electing government officials again.
1995: Ecuador goes into war with Peru for the 1941 disputed border.
1998: A Peace treaty is signed with Peru.
1999- 2000: Big economic crisis and adoption of US dollar as official currency.

Recent Photos

Newest Members